Wednesday, February 23, 2011

The Troll Series

book cover of 
Troll Fell 
 (Troll, book 1)
Katherine Langrish

I was browsing the paperback section at the library one day, when I spotted an interesting-looking book on the shelf called Troll Mill.  Being the kind of person who believes in trolls, I picked up the book, saw that it was the second one in a series, and set out to find the first. I'm very glad I did. This is a trilogy, with Troll Fell being the first book, followed by Troll Mill, and Troll Blood. There is an omnibus coming out March 2011, entitled West of the Moon. Peer Ulfsson, the main character, has had some terrible luck. His father has just died and right at the end of the funeral, his cruel long-lost half-uncle Baldur Grimsson shows up. After selling almost all of Peer's possessions and keeping the money, Uncle Baldur drags Peer away from everything he's ever known. Then things get worse. It turns out uncle Baldur has an identical twin who's just as bad as he is, they have a dog who is a trained killer, and the way his Uncles see it, Peer is no better then a slave and should be treated accordingly. Plus, the huge hill is infested with trolls. Peer's only friends are his dog Loki, and the girl who lives up the road. But when Peer discovers a plot that involves giving children to the trolls in exchange for gold, he has no idea what's in store for him. The first book in this series is a bit depressing, although it picks up a bit at the end. It is a pretty clean series, but because some of it might be a little hard to understand, I recommend this series for ages 11 and up. Author: Katherine Langrish. Release date: 2004 On a scale of 1 being not so good, and 10 being the very best series I've ever read, I rate this series a 8.

No comments:

Post a Comment